top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAutumn Gavora

Annual Cancer Survivor Luncheon

Updated: Sep 18, 2019

I haven’t really talked about it much because I honestly do not feel like I deserve the title; this year I have the honor of being the Cancer Ambassador for Fayette County, Georgia Relay for Life. To be asked to do this I was in shock. Me? Really?


I went through all of these thoughts in my head as to why I was not good enough for this role. How my treatment plan was not as harsh as some people’s. How my cancer was not as bad as other’s. Then I began to realize that those thoughts do not matter. I had cancer. Twice. I went through all the emotional rollercoasters. Heck, I STILL am. Cancer in itself is a beast. Cancer is a canker sour that sits on your whole family and those friends that are close to you. Cancer SUCKS and even though it sucks, I came out screaming on top.




That‘s where it hits me. Maybe that’s why they picked me? Despite everything, I still smile every single day. I still see the positive in the world around me and my life. I still continue to push for my goals and go after. I never stopped living. I never let cancer take control of my life. I never gave up. Maybe, just maybe, that’s the reason.





Today, I had the incredible pleasure of attending the annual cancer survivor luncheon at the Studio Cafe in Pinewood Studios. The event was hosted by Piedmont Fayette Hospital, Pinewood Studios, and Relay for Life. When Daniel and I walked in we were immediately greeted by Erica who works for Pinewood and then ushered to a table to sign in where we were told we were VIP guests. How cool is that?! Being the ambassador has it‘s perks. We were seated at a reserved table right in front of the stage so we could see everything going on!


Daniel and I were served an incredible meal by the Studio Cafe of chicken piccata with penne noodles and a chocolate mouse dessert.





We got to listen to an enlightening and hilarious talk by Ronda Rich. We listened to a heartfelt talk by one of piedmont Fayette‘s oncologist. We spoke to some of the nicest people you’ll ever meet. Today was for sure an incredible day. I feel very honored to be able to be a part of all of this.




If you live in the area then I hope you’ll come out to the relay event in August. If you want to donate here you go: https://mobileacs.org/2IRrI0M


Until next time,

Autumn


26 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page