top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAutumn Gavora

My July Book Picks

June is here and that means it is time for me to share with you more books that I love! As per usual there is no particular order or meaning behind the way that I post these. I picked each of them for very different reasons. The links that I picked also have the least expensive books as well. I am always up for a good deal even when it comes to what I read.





1. China Rich Girlfriend by Kevin Kwan


This is the second installment of the Crazy Rich Asain trilogy that I recommended last month.

If you have not read the first one here is the link to it https://rstyle.me/+uq5ynnhgAP6M9UIkZEgoIA


Also, if you haven't read the first one then please skip to the next book so I do not spoil anything for you! Kevin Kwan is an incredible writer. He is able to paint the scenes you are reading to where you see everything in your head even if you have never been to China like me. I love reading all the fashion in the book as well! It's almost like Asain Gossip Girl in a certain way. Oh and let me not even start talking about the food. Like, can someone get me a pineapple tart STAT! You are thrown into drama immediately in this novel as you find out that Rachel and Nicholas are indeed going on with the wedding even with wedding crashers. Rachel finally gets to meet her dad! He invited Rachel and Nick to stay the summer in Singapore and all hell starts as it always does whenever Rachel steps foot in China. We get to know more about Kitty, you know the soap opera star from the first book. I actually enjoyed her side story. We are introduced to a handful of new characters including Colette which I think we all know an influencer like Colette! Kevin brings in the drama on overload, there is deceit, trust funds frozen, SOMEONE IS POISONED AND ALMOST DIES, and of course lots of chaos caused by the young rich bazillionaires of China.


2. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins


Go ahead and laugh but I picked this book just because of all the weird things happening in our world right now. For a while there it felt like the game masters were controlling all the different things we were seeing. Jokes aside, if you have not read The Hunger Games series you should even if you have already seen the movie because the book is a billion times better. Years after America has fallen, Panem stands with 12 districts that are ruled by district one. Each year, one boy and one girl is picked as a tribute from each district to fight to their death on a televised "game" hosted by district one. The story follows Katniss Everdeen, District 12's tribute, through her time in the game. You will cry, you will cheer, and you will get angry during this read. I highly recommend it. I put a link here for a copy that is under $6.

3. In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware


This was the very first murder mystery novel that I have ever read. Before this, I heavily gravitated toward romance, WWII era, or fantasy novels. This book pulled me in fast as I caught myself speed-reading through the pages. The narrator, Nora Shaw, goes to a bachelorette party of an old friend that she hasn't spoken to or seen in a long time. In a cabin in the middle of nowhere, the girls start with the typical bachelorette type of shenanigans only to wake up to the murder of the groom. You read through the story as Nora is trying to remember what exactly happened that night. The events will give you the creeps.


4. Five Feet Apart by Rachael Lippincott


I ended up seeing the movie before I read the book. A little fun fact for you, on my way home from seeing the movie I got a phone call with a job offer to work in Cystic Fibrosis research. The lab wasn't for me but the research they did was amazing. This book follows the life of Stella, who is seventeen and has cystic fibrosis. Stella has spent most of her life behind hospital walls because of this. She heavily relies on strict schedules to make sure that she is giving herself a longer chance at life then she meets Will. He is super rebellious and doesn't really care to follow the rules. The two fall hard for each other and have to break the temptation to stay six feet apart so they take a foot back that cystic fibrosis stole.


5. The Perfect Wife by J.P. Delaney


The synopsis of this book does not give it justice. I honestly would have never given it a thought until the book club I am a part of picked it for a month to read. The thing that really gets me is that something like what goes on in this book could happen for real and it really made me think about how fragile life is. Abbie is an extremely talented artist, a surfer, and a super cool person all around. She is everything you dreamt of being as a teenager if you were a free spirit like me. Abbie ends up falling in love with a brilliant tech titan who is a founder of the most innovative A.I. company in Silicon Valley. Everything turns upside down from her perfect life when she wakes up in a hospital bed to find that nothing is what it seems. The fight for her life begins as she struggles to find out what exactly happened to her and who exactly is her husband. This is a must-read if you are looking for something a little different from what you're normally into. If you liked the movie Ex Machina you'd love this book. Also, go watch that movie too! It's on Netflix.


6. The couple next door by Shari Lapena


A murder mystery, kidnapping, scandal, all wrapped into one! I obviously found that I like these types of books thanks to In a Dark, Dark Wood so I tried this one and I was not disappointed. Anne and Marco Conti have the perfect life on the outside looking in. They have a beautiful home, a happy baby girl named Cora, a loving relationship, and Marco is a tech business owner. Then one night the neighbor has a birthday dinner. Even though the babysitter cancels, Anne and Marco still go leaving Cora at home sleeping for them to come home and find that she was taken. The story is an entangled web of lies that come to light as the search for Cora progresses. I found myself forming opinions only to have them ripped to shreds by the end. Very good read.



As always, thank you so much for taking the time to check out my July book picks! If you have read one of these books or decide to read one because of this blog let me know! Checkin on the first of each month for new book picks!


If you want something free to read check out my books on Wattpad.


And There Was You (Book One)-Completed. Currently going through a mass edit.


And There Was Us (Book Two)- Work in Progress updated every Friday.


50 Days- Work in Progress updated every Sunday.



X,

Autumn


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page