top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAutumn Gavora

Visiting the Michael C. Carlos Museum

For the last two years on my daily walks across Emory campus I pass the beautiful doors of the Michael C. Carlos Museum. Every time I do, I tell whoever I am walking with that I will be going in there the following week and I never do. I got to thinking about how many times I say I am going to do something and never follow through. I figured it was time to change that. I booked an appointment time and walked through the beautiful doors into one of the most unexpectedly delightful places that I have ever been.




ABOUT THE MICHAEL C. CARLOS MUSEUM


This little known gem is hidden on the quadrangle of Emory University's main campus. The Michael C. Carlos Museum is one of the oldest museums in Georgia founded in 1919 with collections that date back to 1876. The permanent location designed by Michael Graves was opened in 1985 after a large donation from Atlanta business man Michael C. Carlos.


The Carlos Museum houses the largest art collection in the Southeast which blew me away. There are objects from the ancient Americas, Africa, the Near East, ancient Egypt, Greece, and Rome. All of the exhibits are organized and flow perfectly. Along with permanent exhibits there are also temporary ones that run a few months at a time allowing for a constant influx of new artwork to be seen.



VISITING THE MICHAEL C. CARLOS MUSEUM


I visited the Carlos museum on a Tuesday midday and only had one other museum guest in the building exploring with me. The museum itself is very quiet and you have plenty of time to roam from room to room without feeling rushed. Each different area of the museum holds a different part of the world which I really loved. My absolute favorite part was the ancient Greece exhibit, seeing all of the status transported me to the lands of my dreams.


There is a hidden staircase in the Egyptian exhibit that takes you upstairs to the temporary exhibits. This area for the time that I came was filled with amazing pieces from India and Africa.




With pandemic restrictions you have to schedule your tickets online and you'll have a time block set out for your visit. You will also have to fill out a health questionnaire just asking if you've had a fever or COVID-19 symptoms. I honestly think that this is the best time to go as they are limiting the number of people in so you can really enjoy everything without any one around.




PLAN YOUR VISIT


OPENING HOURS:


Tuesday- Friday 10 AM- 4 PM

Saturday 10 AM- 5 PM

Sunday Noon- 5 PM


Reservations are required.



TICKET PRICES:


$8 Adults

$6 Seniors, students, and children (6-11)

Free Carlos Museum members; Emory University students, staff, faculty; children 5 and under.

$2 audio guide rental








13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page